Call nowAppointment

How do orthopedic doctors treat Shoulder Pain?

The shoulder joint is made up of three bones: the scapula (shoulder blade), the clavicle (collarbone), and the humerus (upper arm bone). The three bones meet in a socket formed by the acromion (ridge at the top of the scapula) and the scapula. Nonsurgical treatments such as physical therapy, exercise, rest, and cold or heat therapy can help reduce pain and disability. Surgery is often recommended when non-surgical treatments fail. Typical treatment includes medication, rest, physical therapy, and cortisone injections.